Advanced Nurse Practitioner

To be able to work at an advanced level of nursing practice, nurses need to meet a number of standards. Use our resources to find out more about working at an advanced level of practice. 

Advanced practice is defined as: 

Advanced practice is a level of practice, rather than a type of practice. Advanced Nurse Practitioners are educated at Masters Level in clinical practice and have been assessed as competent in practice using their expert clinical knowledge and skills. They have the freedom and authority to act, making autonomous decisions in the assessment, diagnosis and treatment of patients.

Registered nurses working at this advanced level must meet the following standards. They must:

  • have an active registration with the NMC
  • practice within the four pillars
  • have a Job Plan that demonstrates advanced nursing practice and has equity with peers working at this level
  • be educated to Masters level
  • be an independent prescriber
  • meet NMC revalidation requirements
  • demonstrate autonomous evidence

See: Royal College of Nursing Standards for Advanced Level Nursing Practice

Advanced Level Nursing Practice: Introduction

The RCN has produced a publication that highlights the standards for nurses working as advanced nursing practitioners. 

Introduction: RCN Standards for advanced level nursing practice, advanced nurse practitioners, RCN accreditation and RCN credentialing. These updated RCN competencies recognise the changing landscape of advanced level practice in nursing and other allied health professions and uses the term advanced level nursing practice to acknowledge this.

See: Advanced Level Nursing Practice: Introduction

Section 1 defines advanced level nursing practice and sets out the answers to key questions being asked by nurses, doctors, potential employers and commissioners, educational programme directors and others interested in this level of practice and the role of the Advanced Nurse Practitioner.

See: The registered nurse working at an advanced level of practice

Section 2 signposts readers to relevant domains and competences for advanced level nursing practice in the UK. The RCN endorses the consensus evident in the national standards on advanced level nursing practice published by the Department of Health (England), the Scottish Government, the Department of Health and Social Services Northern Ireland and the Welsh Assembly Government.

See: Advanced level nursing practice competencies

Section 3 sets out the standards which higher education institutions must meet for their advanced level nursing practice educational programmes to be eligible for RCN Accreditation. It also sets out the RCN Credentialing framework. 

See: RCN accreditation and credentialing

Find out more about RCN credentialing from two nurses practising at an advanced level in the following Video from the RCN.

More can be found in the RCN library click here to view.

Content Source -  

Please do keep an eye on this site for programmes and funding opportunities for Herefordshire and Worcestershire.
If you work in a practice in either county please bookmark our Newsletter on TeamNet.